Peder Fredricson and H&M All In (Photo: Archive)

Seven riders in the jump-off of the Rolex of Knokke

The start list of the Rolex of Knokke included 49 riders from 15 nations. The course, designed by Uliano Vezzani (ITA) and his team, led over 13 obstacles with 16 jumps and had to be completed in a permitted time of 77 seconds. Especially in the triple, there were quite a number of drops. Course

Last rider to qualify for the jump-off for victory was last year’s winner Jerome Guery (BEL). Before him, Bernardo Cardoso De Resende Alves (BRA), Henrik von Eckermann from Sweden, Christian Ahlmann (GER), Peder Fredricson (SWE), Kendra Claricia Brinkop (GER) and Maikel van der Vleuten from the Netherlands succeeded in doing so.

Peder Fredricson and H&M All In with the fastest clear round in the jump-off to win the Rolex of Knokke

Bernardo Cardoso De Resende Alves opened the jump-off with a fast clear round with . After that, Henrik von Eckermann had a down with the otherwise so safe King Edward. Maikel van der Vleuten and Beauville Z remained clear, but were clearly slower than Bernardo Alves with a time of 44.70 seconds. For Christian Ahlmann and the clocks stopped after 43.87 seconds, which would have meant the lead, if a pole had not fallen at the final oxer.

After that, the second Swedish rider, Peder Fredricson, entered the jump-off course. The team Olympic medallist from Tokyo and individual European champion from 2017 remained without a drop with H&M All In and was 0.14 seconds faster than the Brazilian rider who had been leading until then. That was the lead and the victory in the Rolex of Knokke, because Kendra Claricia Brinkop with Do It Easy and Jerome Guery with Quel Homme de Hus were faster than Peder Fredricson, but they both dropped a bar at the last jump.

Peder Fredricson (Photo: Archive)

Result in the Rolex Grand Prix of Knokke

Photos: Silvia and Hans-Joachim Reiner (Archive)